Appointments announced

Tuesday 3 August 2010

The Department for Business, Innovation and Skills has appointed two new members to the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC).

Mr Martin Coleman is the Head of Antitrust, Competition and Regulatory practice for Norton Rose LLP. Previously, Mr Coleman held a post at Brunel University as a lecturer in law, specialising in public law and legal systems. He has advised the senior management of major international companies and national governments on competition law and regulatory matters.

Mr Coleman has been appointed to Council for a period of three years from 1 April 2010 to 31 July 2013.

David Martin is a Prof in the School of Geography, University of Southampton, Co-Director of the ESRC National Centre for Research Methods and since 2002 he has been the co-ordinator of the ESRC Census Programme. He is particularly interested in census methods, geographical information systems and the delivery of health care.

Prof Martin has been appointed to Council for a period of three years from 1 August 2010 to 21 July 2013.

In addition, the ESRC is pleased to announce the Chairs of its Committees. The new governance structure supports the delivery of the ESRC Strategic Plan 2009-2014 and provides an integrated approach to the ESRC's research and training portfolios.

The structure includes three policy committees: the Research Committee, the Methods and Infrastructure Committee and the Training and Skills Committee.

Prof Charlie Jeffery, University of Edinburgh will chair the Research Committee which oversees and sets policy for ESRC research funding and investments, both managed and responsive.

Mr David Walker, Audit Commission will chair the Methods and Infrastructure Committee which oversees and sets policy for ESRC data services, surveys, research methods and information environment.

Prof John Beath, University of St Andrews will chair the Training and Skills Committee from August 2010 which oversees and sets policy for ESRC training and skills development.

The Evaluation Committee and the Audit Committee will continue to provide independent advice to Council. The Audit Committee is chaired by Mr Paul Grice, Scottish Parliament.

The Evaluation Committee will be chaired by Prof Ann Buchanan from October 2010, who has been reappointed to Council for three years until the end of July 2013. Prof Buchanan is the Director of the Centre for Research into Parenting and Children at the University of Oxford.

The Chairs of each policy committee are also Council members and will report current activities of the group to rest of Council at each meeting.

The structure will also have two networks which will work to embed impact and international activity across the work of the ESRC. The networks will include members from Council and its Committees.

For further information contact

ESRC Press Office:

Notes for editors

  1. The Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) is the UK's largest organisation for funding research on economic and social issues. It supports independent, high quality research which has an impact on business, the public sector and the third sector. The ESRC's total expenditure in 2009/10 was £211 million. At any one time the ESRC supports over 4,000 researchers and postgraduate students in academic institutions and independent research institutes.
  2. The Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) is building a dynamic and competitive UK economy by: creating the conditions for business success; promoting innovation, enterprise and science; and giving everyone the skills and opportunities to succeed. To achieve this it will foster world-class universities and promote an open global economy. BIS - Investing in our future.
  3. The Council appointments have been made in accordance with the requirements of the Code of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. Prof Ann Buchanan, Mr Martin Coleman and Prof David Martin have not been involved in any relevant political activities in the last five years. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity (if any declared) to be made public.
  4. The appointees hold no other ministerial appointments.
  5. An honorarium of £6,850 per year is currently paid to members and a higher rate of £9,110 is paid to members who chair Policy Committees.